Uke Tunes

Uke-ifying my favourite songs

(Don’t Go Back To) Rockville – R.E.M. – Ukulele Chords

Leave a comment

A while back I posted a songbook for R.E.M.’s Automatic For The People, their most commercially successful album and the one that will likely be remembered as their crowning glory. But for me, it was the earlier R.E.M. albums that were my favourites. Murmur, their debut, was my introduction to the band, all indecipherable murmured lyrics and chiming, jangly guitars. And Life Richs Pageant, their fourth album in just over three years, that introduces a little swagger and intelligibility to their established sound.

<songsheet>

But for whatever reason I’d never really gone back to some of their other earlier releases, and so the 1984 sophomore album was only known to me via. it’s (admittedly wonderful) singles – this tune, and S. Central Rain (I’m Sorry). Just recently I put that omission right, and to be honest I can’t stop playing Reckoning – it’s such a glorious record. Certainly I would put it on a par with Murmur, and maybe – at this point in time, anyway, rank it marginally ahead of it. A clearer production, more distinct vocals (although you’ll still need a lyric sheet to work it all out), great songs, and a band clearly full of the tightness and confidence that constant touring brings.

(Don’t Go Back To) Rockville was written in 1980 by bassist Mike Mills, a plea to his then-girlfriend, Ingrid Schorr, not to go back to a small town (Rockville, Maryland) where her parents lived. Originally meant to be something of a thrashy, punky tune, it was only late in the day that the more countrified arrangement was adopted, a move that saw it fit much better with the overall vibe of Reckoning.

And so to the songsheet. It’s quite a straightforward tune, but with a few slightly trickier bits, and lots of Sus4 chords to give it interest. The songsheet includes two versions – one in the original key, and a second in F, which is probably a little easier to play. Take your pick. But enjoy!

Leave a comment