Uke Tunes

Uke-ifying my favourite songs

End of year review of most popular songs of 2014

1 Comment

So I thought it would be a bit of fun to have a look at what the most popular songs downloaded from this site are. Not because I want to demonstrate how popular this site is – if I published the actual number of downloads you’d soon realise that  would be a laugh! And not because I want to pander to demand – given some of the stuff I put on here that clearly can’t be the case. But just out of general interest and curiosity to see what people go for. Unsurprisingly, the more popular songs are the more well-known, classic, long-living songs, whereas some of the more obscure (and I recognise that there are some real obscure stuff on here!) don’t appear to do so well. Doh! So the top 5 downloaded song sheets this year have been (cue drum roll):

  1. Baker Street, by Gerry Rafferty
  2. Wayfaring Stranger
  3. How Long Will I Love You, by The Waterboys (although I suspect it is the Ellie Goulding version that’s prompted it’s popularity)
  4. Rhinestone Cowboy, by Glen Campbell
  5. One, by U2 (& Johnny Cash)

 

Clearly on a site like this, that whole-year summary favours material that has been on the site for the whole year. So I thought it would be interesting to balance that with a list of most popular donwloads that takes into accout how long the posts have been published. So that list (and I refuse to disclose the complicated statistical science behind these figures :)) looks like this:

  1. Rhythm Of The Rain
  2. Baker Street
  3. All About That Bass
  4. Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head
  5. Wayfaring Stranger

 

Clearly none of this reflects whether anybody did anything with the songsheets or found any of them useful! No matter.I hope that those who did find them got some enjoyment from them.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all.

One thought on “End of year review of most popular songs of 2014

  1. Pingback: 2015 most popular songs | Uke Tunes

Leave a Reply

