Uke Tunes

Uke-ifying my favourite songs

Look At Miss Ohio – Gillian Welch

9 Comments

souljourney<song sheet>

A little while back I said that Gillian Welch might pop up quite regularly on this blog. To date she’s only appeared the once, and so it’s about time I put that right.

As I said on that first post, I do so love the music that Gillian Welch makes. Every time I come back to it there’s something warm and welcoming about it that wraps you up and holds you in its arms. That’s not to say this is bland, escapist stuff – there’s plenty of heartache, pain and tragedy sprinkled across these songs of hers, but there is something in these songs that leaves me with a sense of peace and contentment. I guess there was probably a time when I would have thought that was a bad thing. But right now I think that is a wonderful gift to give anybody. Edgy has its time and place, but sometimes you just want to be hugged, and Gillian’s songs do that for me.

“Look At Miss Ohio” is another song from her 2003 album “Soul Journey“. If truth be known it’s probably my least favourite of all her albums (in part due to the more band-oriented sound), but that is just a relative judgement. Gillian has never made a bad record, and there are some wonderful songs on Soul Journey. Whereas No One Knows My Name has more of an upbeat, bluegrass-y feel to it, Look At Miss Ohio falls into my favourite category of Gillian Welch songs – the slowburners. Those gentle, repetative, almost trance-like songs that are just *so* gorgeous. She took this to a mighty extreme on 2001’s Time (The Revelator) with the track I Dream A Highway – 14 and a half minutes of pure bliss, and when it ends it just feels like too soon. That song could go on forever as far as I’m concerned!

Lok At Miss Ohio is a song about a girl who might want to settle down at some point, but wants to live, to have some fun, before she does that. Who wants to do right, but not right now. Personally I’m many years the other side of that particular dilema, but it still rings a chord, and maybe a little ache inside about not having done so as much as maybe I should have. It’s a gorgeous song, as this live acoustic version from St Lukes in London shows – just Gillian and constant musical companion Dave Rawlings.

And so to the song sheet. Quite straightforward for chords, although the instrumental interludes throw in one or two unusual chords. Not much more to say, to be honest  – just sing and enjoy!

pdf-icon

9 thoughts on “Look At Miss Ohio – Gillian Welch

  1. Pingback: Tiny Children – The Teardrop Explodes | Uke Tunes

  2. Hi there – I REALLY want to play Time (the revelator) on Uke, but have been having some trouble finding a good version of chords for the ukulele….have you played with this song…it is a real beauty!

    • I’ve got a few others, but I’m afraid I don’t have anything for Revelator, but totally agree that it is a beautiful song (mind you, I think that applies to the majority of Gillian Welch’s repetoire). I’ll have a look out for it, though, and see if I can pull something together.

      • Hiya, sorry for the delay in the response, I have been away. Thanks for the reply…look forward to seeing if you have any luck with Revelator. Thanks again, Catherine

    • Catherine – so here’s an initial attempt at Revelator. I’ll post it more formally on the site later, but have a go and let me know what you think. Any feedback welcomed.

      https://uketunes.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/time-the-revelator.pdf

  3. WOW! THAT IS AWESOME..Hurray hurray. Thank you so much. I will practice practice practice and send you a recording when the time is right 🙂

    • Looking forward to hearing that! I’ve thought about putting recordings of some of these songs up on the site, but never been brace enough. Enjoy!

  4. Pingback: Revelator – Gillian Welch | Uke Tunes

  5. Pingback: One Little Song – Gillian Welch | Uke Tunes

Leave a Reply

